Email Marc

Blog Tags


Thursday, June 08, 2006

NAHL Division Alignment Released

This just in from the league...

For Immediate Release


Frisco, Texas -- Following the Board of Governors meeting in Denver, Colorado, this week, the North American Hockey League has announced its divisional structure and playoff format for the 2006-07 season.

The league will operate with 17 teams and four divisions. The divisions will be:

Alpena IceDiggers
Mahoning Valley Phantoms
Marquette Rangers
Traverse City North Stars
U.S. National Team Development Program

St. Louis Bandits
Santa Fe Roadrunners
Texas Tornado
Wichita Falls Wildcats

Alexandria Blizzard
North Iowa Outlaws
Springfield Jr. Blues
Southern Minnesota Express

Alaska Avalanche
Bismarck Bobcats
Fargo-Moorhead Jets
Fairbanks Ice Dogs

Each team will play a 62-game schedule to begin on September 13 and conclude by April 1.

The 2006-07 season will commence with the NAHL Showcase in Blaine, Minnesota, at the Schwan Super Rink. Each team will play their first four games of the season at the Showcase between Wednesday, September 13 and Saturday, September 16.

The top two teams in each division will qualify for the playoffs. The first and second place teams in each division will play a best-of-seven playoff round to begin no earlier than April 5 and conclude by April 22. This will determine the teams that will advance to the championship round, joining a host in a five-team Robertson Cup Tournament. As in the past, if the host team is one of the qualifying teams, the team they defeated to advance to the championship round will represent that division in the Robertson Cup Tournament. The Robertson Cup Tournament will conclude no later than April 29.

The teams will now begin to draw up their schedules, which will include both divisional and inter-divisional games.

In other league business, the Board of Governors has selected a new executive committee, comprised of one member from each division, and will select a Chairman of the Board before the end of the month.

The Board also appointed a committee to conduct a search for a new commissioner. Michael Santos will remain commissioner and president of the NAHL until June 30, 2006.

Comments on "NAHL Division Alignment Released"


Anonymous Anonymous said ... (2:09 PM, June 13, 2006) : 

Does this mean that there will be inter-Division play by all teams? If so, would there be a requirement of home/home or at least 2 games? Thinking of what would be required for the non-West divisions for going to Alaska.


post a comment

Links to this post: